Chair (2021 – 2024):

Xiaodong Sun

Vice-chair (2023 – 2024):

Chul-Hwa Song


Yassin Hassan (2020-2024)

Hisashi Ninokata (2020-2024)

C. H. Song (2020-2024)

Wade Marcum (2021-2025)

Elia Merzari (2022-2026)

Bao-Wen Yang (2023-2027)


Recommends to the EC, Division members as candidates for Society and Division Honors and Awards. One of the key activities of the Thermal Hydraulics division is to identify and honor exemplary technical achievements. This is an important element in promoting technical quality. The Division Honors and Awards Committee has established procedures to identify deserving members for nomination to Fellow Grade (the highest membership grade of the society), and to make Division awards. Since the inception of the Division three types of awards have been given: Distinguished Service Award, Best Paper Award, and Technical Achievement Award. Since 1984, the division has settled on the latter two awards which focus most directly on the goals of promoting and achieving technical quality. The Best Paper Award will be normally given annually for the best full paper presented at one of the previous Division-sponsored thermal hydraulics sessions or topical meetings. The award is made on the basis of originality, creativity, impact and scientific integrity. Recommendations for the Best Paper Award come from the THD Editorial Subcommittee, from chairs of technical meeting sessions, and from members at-large (through the Program Committee Chair). At least one author must be a member of the American Nuclear Society. The Best Paper Award is a certificate with an appropriate citation and a check (currently $100), presented by the Division Chair at the ANS Winter Meeting. The Technical Achievement Award is the highest award given by the THD. It is normally presented annually to a member of the THD in recognition of outstanding past or current technical achievement. It is based on a major contribution to the state of the art, an important publication, a major technical achievement, or a sustained record of accomplishment and technical excellence in the art or science of Thermal hydraulics. Nominations for this award are made directly by the Division membership or others in the technical community. Nominations accompanied by at least three supporting letters are submitted in writing to the THD Honors and Awards Chair. The Technical Achievement Award is a plaque with an appropriate citation and a monetary grant. The Technical Achievement Award is usually presented at the ANS Winter Meeting.