Bal-Raj Sehgal Memorial Award

The Bal-Raj Sehgal Memorial Award recognizes an early-career to a mid-career individual for his/her exceptional and/or sustained contributions to the thermal-hydraulics field with a particular focus on the application of thermal-hydraulics to nuclear reactor safety. It is awarded every 2 years and presented at the nearest NURETH conference to arrive. The recipient is expected to deliver a keynote lecture at the NURETH conference at which the award is presented in coordination with the conference organizers.



Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award is given annually for the best full paper presented at one of the previous year’s Division sponsored thermal hydraulics sessions or topical meetings. In years in which no award is presented, two may be awarded the following year. The award is made on the basis of originality, creativity, impact and scientific integrity. Recommendations for the Best Paper Award come from chairs of technical meeting sessions and from members at-large (through the Program Committee Chair).


Excellence in Review Award

The Excellence in Review Award has been established to recognize THD scholars who have performed exceptional review service to our Division and for exceptional review qualities. An awardee must have provided outstanding general review services to the division for either ANS meeting submissions or THD sponsored or co-sponsored meetings. Performing high quality review is one of the key contributions that members can make and is directly related to maintaining the integrity of THD summaries and meetings.  Both an award and an honorable mention may be awarded annually.

Meritorius Service Award

The Thermal Hydraulic Meritorious Service Award recognizes an individual for sustained and exemplary service to the nuclear thermal-hydraulic profession. Emphasis is placed on sustained, well-recognized, service contributions over a number of years but single exceptional one-time contributions may also be considered.



The NURETH Fellow was established by THD to recognize scholars who made “outstanding contribution to numerous
International Topical Meetings on Nuclear Reactor Thermal-Hydraulics (NURETH) since 1980.”

Technical Achievement Award

The Technical Achievement Award is the highest award given by the THD. It is normally presented annually to a member of the THD in recognition of outstanding past or current technical achievement. It is based on a major contribution to the state of the art, an important publication, a major technical achievement, or a sustained record of accomplishment and technical excellence in the art or science of Thermal hydraulics.