The THD annually presents a "Best Paper" award and a "Technical Achievement Award" at the Winter ANS Meeting. The THD Honors and Awards (H&A) Committee is tasked with making the selections for these two awards. This year the H&A Committee consisted of the following THD members:

  • T. K. Larson (INEEL) - H&A Chair
  • D. Grand (CEA, France)
  • Y. A. Hassan (Texas A & M University)
  • G. Kojasoy (University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee)
  • M. Pilch (SNL)



The Best Paper is selected from peer reviewed full papers presented at THD sponsored conference sessions from the preceding year. Papers presented at the Eighth International Topical Meeting on Nuclear Reactor Thermal-Hydraulics (NURETH-8, Kyoto, Japan, September 30-October 4, 1997), the 1997 ANS Winter Meeting (Albuquerque, NM, November 16-20, 1997), and the 1997 National Heat Transfer Conference (Baltimore, MD, August 10-14, 1997) were considered for the 1998 award.

For 1998, the Best Paper was awarded to S. S. Abalin1, V. Asmolov1, A. V. Merzliakov1, V. D. Daragan2, E. K. D'yakov2, and V. Yu. Vishnevsky2 for their paper entitled "Corium Kinematic Viscosity Measurement" presented at NURETH-8. Each of these authors received a best paper award certificate which was presented at the awards ceremony.

1 RRC "Kurchatov Institute," Nuclear Safety Institute, Kurchatov Sq.1, 123182, Moscow, Russia

2 SIA "Lutch", Zheleznodorozhnaya st. 24, 142100, Moscow region, Russia

Page 01