Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting ANS Thermal Hydraulics Division

2002 ANS Winter Annual Meeting Washington, D.C., Omni Shoreham Hotel Sunday, November 17, 2002, Parlor #252

Attendees: Jong Kim, Hisashi Ninokata, Robert Martin, Jose Reyes, Whee Choe, F.

Bill Cheung, Joy Rempe, David Bessette, Tom K Larson, Martin

Bertodano, Jovica R Riznic

1. Opening

Jong Kim called the THD Executive Committee Meeting to order at 05:30 p.m.

2. Agenda

Meeting agenda were approved.

3. Minutes from June 2002 Meeting

The meeting minutes from June 2002 meeting at Hollywood, FL were approved.

4. Action Items from June 2002 Meeting

NUTHOS - 6 will be put into the ANS calendar for meeting and advertisement in ANS publications. An action item has been identified for Professor Ninokata to complete required documentation for presentation to ANS HQ.

5. Student Conference 2003

UC Berkeley's ANS student chapter representatives, Miss Darby Kimball and Mr. Lance Kim were requesting monetary support from THD for their future student chapter's sponsored activities. THD committed verbally with \$1,500.

6. Treasurer's Report

The treasurer distributed copies and presented financial report for 2002. Treasurer's report was fully approved by the members.

Executive Committee decided to archive the THD Treasurer's records in electronic form if the cost of transforming is not expensive. Robert Martin will find out the cost and report to EC for the next meeting.

7. Program Committee Report

Professor Martin Bertodano reported that THD can participate in NHTC actively as long as the conference time and ANS Summer meeting would not overlap. Jong Kim will represent our division to negotiate with ASME for the decision of the NTHC dates.

8. Awards and Honors

Jose Reyes reported that Jean-Marc Delhaye was selected as the recipient of THD Technical Achievement Award. His lecture and the award ceremony will be held in Senate Room from 11:30, November 19, 2002.

9. Membership/ Member Nomination Issue

Robert Martin explained the current PC & EC membership status and he suggested rewriting our division bylaws to fit the current status.

An Action Item has been identified for Robert Martin to draft the bylaws to pass around to the EC members for comments.

10. Nominating Committee

Jong Kim will contact Cetin Unal, the current Chair of the Nominating Committee, to confirm the status of nominating new EC members.

Jose Reyes and Bill Cheung will discuss for the future nomination of THD Technical Achievement Award.

11. Old Business

No items for discussion

12. New Business

No items for discussion

Appendix:

ANS-THO EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE HEETING

HOUBHRER 17,2002		
Jovica Riavic	613-943-0132	PIZHCJECHSCCCAGC
T.K. barson	208-526-5775	the inelan
Jong Kim	650-855-2671	tkl@inel.gov jkm@epri.com
Hisashi Ninokata	+81-3-5734-3056	hninokatenr. titech. ac
Robert Martin		yt. martin & framitome-arp.
José REYES	541-737-7065	reyes@ne.oist.edu
Whee Choe	214-812-4371	whee choe atxy.
F. Bell, Chang	814-863-4261	fx04@psu.elu
	(208) 526-2897	•
David Bessette	301 415 6763	deb@nrc-gov
Martin Bertodano	765 464-9169	bertoden a pudne edu
		<i>F</i>