Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting ANS Thermal Hydraulics Division

2001 ANS Winter Annual Meeting Reno Hilton Hotel, Room N-4 Reno, Nevada November 11, 2001

Attendees: Martin Bertodano, Cetin Unal, F. Bill Cheung, Jose Reyes, James Lake, Joy

Rempe, Robert Martin, Per Peterson, Hisashi Ninokata, David Bessette, Jovica R

Riznic, Yassin A. Hassan, Alan Levin

Excused: Jong Kim, Larry Hochreiter

1. Opening

The THD Executive Committee Meeting was called to order by Cetin Unal at 04:30 p.m.

2. Agenda

The proposed agenda was distributed and approved.

3. Minutes from the meeting of the NHTC, Anaheim Hilton Hotel and Towers, Anaheim, CA, June 10, 2001.

The minutes were distributed and approved.

4. Review of the Action Items of June 10, 2001 meeting

4.1 Unresolved Action Item from August 19, 2000 meeting: F.B. Cheung reported on behalf of Larry Hochreiter: Sol Levy=s recollection about original agreement between ANS HQ and THD on NHTC:

A Sol Levy discussed the ANS participation in the NHTC with the ANS governing body. The argument which was presented was that participation in the NHTC benefit the ANS and give the society additional stature that it otherwise not obtain in the thermal hydraulic community. Also, several ANS members were already submitting papers to the NHTC and if ANS participated as a co-sponsor, it could get credit for that work. To assure that

ANS got credit, the ANS papers were bound in an ANS document.

The ANS governing body agreed to allow the ANS Thermal Hydraulic Division to participate in the NHTC under the ANS flag providing that the Thermal Hydraulic Division continue to sponsor THD papers at that meeting. At that time, the ANS THD agreed to this arrangement and the ANS THD began to actively participate in the NHTC with the other technical societies.

Resolved

4.2 Unresolved Action Items from November 13, 200- meeting:

(A) Cetin reported that based on a feedback to his E-mail sent to the EC members, two candidates were selected as the nominees for the ANS Fellowship Award. Namely, Novak Zuber and Bharat Shiralkar were nominated as THD candidates for the Award. Cetin already started preparing and coordinating effort for necessary paper work. He requested help in obtaining a copy of Novak's resume.

Action Item EC2001W-01: David Bessette to contact Novak Zuber for a copy of his recent resume.

Discussion followed about the need for THD to develop a list of potential candidates. This will allow the division to initiate nomination on regular (yearly) basis. The new action item has been raised:

Action Item EC2001W-02: Ask members to develop a list of possible candidates for the ANS Fellow recognition.

(B) Action Item: Cetin talked to Martin Pilch about his willingness to continue to serve on the PC. Martin asked to be excused from all activities at the present time. **Resolved**

(C) Action Item on Honors and Awards Committee

Cetin reported that Martin Pilch is not willing to serve on the Honors and Awards Committee. Per Peterson reported that the Committee has decided that the recipient of the THD Technical Achievement Award for 2001 is Professor Michael Corradini. His lecture has been scheduled for Tuesday, November 13 at 03:40 p.m... Also, Per

mentioned that there were not time for thorough review all papers for the Best Technical Paper Award for 2001. He suggested having two Best Technical Paper Awards given in 2002.

F. Bill Cheung motioned to elect Per Peterson as an elected member of the Honors and Awards Committee. Cetin Unal seconded this.

CARRIED

(D) Action Item on the Nomination Committee

F. Bill Cheung repeated his discussion from the last meeting about the need in THD to bringing new people involved in the EC and other committees. Also, he pointed to the need to adopt practice of yearly planning review and nomination process for new members serving on various committees.

The following members were nominated to serve on the Executive Committee for 2002-2003.

Chair: Jong Kim Vice Chair: Whee Choe

Secretary: Shripad Revankar Treasurer: Jovica Riznic

Resolved

5. Treasurer's Report

The treasurer (Robert Martin) distributed copies and presented financial report for 2001 and a budget proposal for 2002.

Representatives of the ANS Student Conference (Frank Buschman, 2002 Conference Chair, and Marcia Chesleigh) were introduced to the EC. They requested financial support from THD toward the 2002 ANS/ ASME Student Conference to be held at Penn State University. Per Peterson motioned to accept and carry an increase from \$500 to \$1,000 to support student travel and an additional \$500 for student awards. This was seconded by F.B. Cheung.

CARRIED

Financial report for 2001 and a budget for 2002 (with above changes) were approved

6. Program Committee Report

Chair of the Program Committee (Martin Bertodano) presented a brief overview of

C:\riznic\files\ans\ec01-01.doc

today's meeting of the TPC. (Minutes attached for further info)

7. Awards and Honors

No new discussion (see 4c above)

8. Membership

Robert Martin presented information that based on membership fund allocation; it appears that the division membership is at 799 members in 2001, up from 715 in 2000 (as of last count)

9. Nominating Committee

No discussion on this issue

10. Old Business

No discussion on this issue

11. New Business

Cetin gave a brief overview of on preparing THD newsletters.

12. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 06:12 p.m.

Prepared by: Jovica R Riznic,

THD Secretary, 2001-2002

Appendix: List of Action Items to carry on:

C:\riznic\files\ans\ec01-01.doc

Action Item EC2001W-01: David Bessette to contact Novak Zuber for a copy of his recent resume.

Action Item EC2001W-02: Ask members to develop a list of possible candidates for the ANS

Fellow recognition.