Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting ANS Thermal Hydraulic Division 2000 ANS/ENS International Winter Meeting Marriot Wardman Park Hotel Washington, D.C., November 13, 2000

Attendees: Martin Bertodano, David Bessette, Yassin Hassan, Jong Kim, Necdet Kurul, Tom Larson, Alan Levin, Robert Martin, Hisashi Ninokakta, Per Peterson, Martin Pilch, Cetin Unal

Observers: Gary E. Wilson

Excused: Mike Podowski

- **1. Opening:** The THD Executive Committee Meeting was called to order by Martin Pilch at 5:30 pm
- **2. Agenda:** The proposed agenda was approved. Tom Larson requested that his replacement be discussed.
- **3. Minutes from August 19, 2000 Meeting (NHTC):** The minutes were distributed and they were approved.

4. Action items from August 19 Meeting:

Old Action Item 5: The THD will continue to review the new policy of the ANS NPC with respect to the NHTC. Response: There was a debate on whether to continue the committee meetings at the NHTC or to move them to the ANS Summer Conference. Alan Levin strongly opposed meeting at the NHTC because he thinks that the NPC will object. Per Peterson and Jong Kim argued that few THD committee members attend the Summer Meeting and that there is no reason why the members of the THD could not meet at the NHTC if a quorum is achieved. The motion was voted and it was approved to meet at the NHTC.

Old Action Item 6: Bill Cheung will give the names of members of the honors and awards committee to Necdet Kurul to update the Web page. *Response: done.*

Old Action Item 8: Bob Martin will find out how much funding is needed to advertise the ANS THD in student conferences so that the THD EC committee will determine the correct level of fundidng for student conferences next year. Response: On August 19 the committee had already agreed to award \$1000 to the student conferences. Shawn Bennett and Donald Todd from Texas A&M came to the meeting to raise money and it was decided to split the \$1000 in two ways: \$500 for travel and \$500 for awards.

Old Action Item 9: Larry Hockreiter will find out how ANS HQ allowed the THD to participate in the NHTC in the past. *Response: none so far.*

Old Action Item 10: Jong Kim will find out if the NHTC organizing committee would approve the THD sessions without ANS sponsorship. *Response: This year the THD sessions will not be available. In the future THD members may organize sessions in the NHTC as members of ASME or AIChE.*

5. Program committee report:

See minutes of the Program committee (attached).

6. Treasurer's report:

Robert Martin presented the proposed budget for 2001 (see attachment). It is a duplicate of the budget for 2000 except that the assignment for awards has been increased to \$1200. The budget was voted and approved.

7. Awards and Honors report:

The 2000 Technical Achievement Award was assigned to Raj Segal.

The Best Paper Award for 1999 was awarded to Gunol Kojasoy and the 2000 Award was given to Raj Segal for his paper at NURETH-9.

New Action Item: Obtain 3 or 4 nominations for ANS Fellow. The THD has not sponsored one yet and there are some likely candidates.

8. New Committee members:

The following members have been elected for 2001:

Chair: Cetin Unal Vice Chair: Jong Kim Secretary: Jovica Riznic Treasurer: Robert Martin

Members (3 year term): Mamoru Ishii and Lawrence Hockreiter

9. New business:

Tom Larson reported that a new ANS working group called Aerospace Nuclear Science and Technology (ANST) has been created. The motivation is that NASA may need Nuclear Power for a Mars mission and beyond. The THD voted to support this effort.