Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting ANS Thermal Hydraulics Division

2002 ANS Summer Annual Meeting Westin Diplomat Hotel, Room 206 Hollywood, Florida June 9, 2002

Attendees: Cetin Unal, Yassin Hassan, Jong Kim, Tom Larson, Alan Levin, Joy Rempe, Hisashi Ninokakta, Abd Lafi, Whee Choe, Barclay Jones

Excused: Robert Martin, Jovica Riznic, Per Peterson, Davit Bessett, Shripad Revenkar, Larry Hochreiter

- **1. Opening:** The THD Executive Committee Meeting was called to order by Cetin Unal at 5:00 pm
- **2. Agenda:** The chair of Awards and Honors was revised as Jose Reyes and the revised proposed agenda was approved.
- **3. Minutes from November 11, 2001 Meeting (NHTC):** The minutes were distributed and they were approved.

4. Action items from November 11 Meeting:

Old Action Item EC2001W-02: Ask members to develop a list of possible candidates for the ANS Fellow recognition. We have asked several members to develop a list. This action item is resolved.

Old Action Item: Talk to past chair for his willingness to serve as the chair of nominating committee. The action item is resolved.

5. Program committee report:

See minutes of the Program committee (attached).

New Action Item: Figure out the process to place NUTHOS-6 into the ANS calendar for meeting and an advertisement in ANS publication.

6. Treasurer's report:

Cetin Unal (for Robert Martin) presented the proposed budget for 2002 (see attachment). It was noted that the cost of technical achievement award of the last year was not included in the report provided by ANS HQ. Therefore, the proposed budget for the Awards and Plaques was allocated as \$ 2200 covering next and past years expenses. The student support of the last year was not spent. This year's budget was allocated as \$ 1500. A motion is made to allocate funding to cover the division officer expense to attend the

NPC paper auctions that occurs twice in a year. The motion was to cover the travel and hotel expenses (with the approval of the EC chair and treasurer) of the person who will attend the NPC paper auction if he/she needs funding and not supported by her/his organization. The motion is accepted and an allocation of \$1000 for division officer expenses was placed in the next year's proposed budget. The expenses will be approved by the EC chair and treasurer before it is submitted to ANS for reimbursement.

7. Awards and Honors report:

The chair of Award and Honors requested a solicitation for the 2002 Technical Achievement and Best Paper Awards.

8. New Committee members:

The following members have been elected for 2002:

Chair: Jong Kim

Vice Chair: Whee Choe Secretary: Shripad Revenkar Treasurer: Jovica Riznic

Members (3 year term): Joy Rempe and Per Peterson

9. Membership

THD membership is increased to 748. ANS HQ encourages including international representations in both PC and EC. Some other divisions revised the bylaws to force international representation. Cetin Unal reported to ANS president in the president's meeting with the division chairs that THD already was already supporting this policy.

10. Nominating Committee

Cetin Unal suggested soliciting officers who are active in TH research and willing to work hard to improve the division's scope and vision.

11. Old Business

In the president's meeting with division chairs, Cetin Unal requested that ANS should find a way to include ANS THD proceeding into the transaction CD with a very low cost (not 135\$/per page). Ken Scheffer will discuss our request with the publication department and get back to us.

12. New Business

13. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at about 6:00 p.m.



THE WESTIN DIPLOMAT

RESORT & SPA
Hollywood, Florida

Nane	Tel	t-mail
Cetin Unal	505-665-2539	- custantigo
T. L. Larson	208-526-577	5 thereinst gov
Y. A. Hassan	979-845-7090	y-hassane tamuedu
HISASHI NINCKAT	A 191-3-5734-3057	hainchatanntitech.
Jong Kim	650-855-2671	j Kim @ epri. com
whee Choe	214-812-4371	whee.choe@txu.ca
Barclay Jones	217-333-3535	bejones Quinc.ed
Abd Lafi	(541) 737-4675 1	afiabdængr.ors edu
Joy Remoe	(208) 526.2897	afiabdaengr.ors edu yoj@inel.gor
Alan Levi	301-415-1750	MEL@ nrc. 900